2019 Partners

ITU is the United Nations specialized agency for information and communication technologies - ICTs. We allocate global radio spectrum and satellite orbits, develop the technical standards that ensure networks and technologies seamlessly interconnect, and strive to improve access to ICTs to underserved communities worldwide. ITU is committed to connecting all the world's people - wherever they live and whatever their means. Through our work, we protect and support everyone's fundamental right to communicate.

The Telecommunications, Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulator (TRBR) is the Telecommunications, Radiocommunications and Broadcasting industry Authority. TRBR was established under Telecommunications and Radiocommunications Regulation Act No. 30 of 2009 amended by Amendment No. 22 of 2018 with the overall responsibility to facilitate the development of the telecommunications, radiocommunications and Broadcasting sector, and manage radio frequency spectrum in order to promote national social and economic development acting independently and impartially in performing the responsibilities, functions and powers set out in the amended TRBR Act and other laws.

TRBR’s other functions includes management of telephone numbers, management and administration of dot VU (.vu) country code top level domain name, promote internet Governance in Vanuatu, ensuring service and products advertisements are genuine and not misleading, promote quality of services offered in the market, promote consumer complaint handling processes, consumer awareness and educational programs on technology evolution and its impact, promote universal services including roll out of Telecommunications, Radiocommunications and Broadcasting services across Vanuatu.

The OGCIO has three main foci:

  1. First, to encourage the spread of ICTs (information and communications technologies) in society to efficiently and effectively achieve an educated, healthy and wealthy Vanuatu.
  2. Second, to lead the iGov Initiative, (the Integrated Government Initiative), which uses world-class e-government solutions and ICTs to bring better service delivery methods to all ministries and agencies, and ultimately to Vanuatu’s residents and businesses.
  3. Thirdly, to encourage the right to information (RTI) in Vanuatu.

Interchange is a Vanuatu- based consortium committed to a better future for Melanesia by providing nation building telecommunications technologies and infrastructure to communities throughout the region.

On 15 January 2014, Interchange completed ‘ICN1’ – a US$32 million project involving French telecommunications corporation Alcatel-Lucent to deploy Vanuatu’s first international submarine cable system linking Port Vila (Vanuatu) to Suva (Fiji). This milestone cable project links Vanuatu directly into the high capacity southern cross cable between Sydney and USA.

The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) is the United Nations' global development network present in 170 countries.

UNDP advocates for change and connects countries to knowledge, experience and resources to help people build a better life for themselves and achieve the eradication of poverty, and the reduction of inequalities and exclusion... It provides expert advice, training and grants support to developing countries, with increasing emphasis on assistance to the least developed countries. It promotes technical and investment cooperation among nations.

UNDP is working across countries in the Asia-Pacific region and globally to invest and empower young people or youths to accelerate the implementation of SDGs through leadership, social innovation and entrepreneurship. It seeks to both support and harness the ability of young people to be the change agents of their societies by taking a leading role on the avenue of social innovation and entrepreneurship. And by strengthening the social entrepreneurship ecosystem, UNDP’s programme support will invest in and create a sustainable and innovative platform for budding youth-led social enterprises to generate sustainable impact in their communities.

The Governance For Growth (GFG) Program is a joint Australia-Vanuatu program of assistance, established in 2007 as an adviser, facilitator and broker of regulatory reform and improved public expenditure management, for the purposes of improving economic growth and delivery of government services. Currently in its third implementation phase, it is a platform for policy dialogue between Australia and Vanuatu, supporting the analytical and consultative processes that inform policy formulation, as well as providing resources for policy implementation. The phase 3 program is guided by two core objectives - Government, acting with the private sector, conceives and implements change in policy and practice that encourages inclusive economic growth; and public expenditure delivers services that are more effective. The GfG Program supported the establishment of the Office of the Chief Information Officer (in 2010), and establishment of the telecommunication regulator (2009) and continues support policy development and implementation in the ICT sector today. GfG is also currently supporting policies aimed at enabling e-commerce, such as the Electronic Single Window Project (to make trading easier) and the Interoperability project (to make banking services more convenient).